Directory-Owners.com - Directory owners resources,forum, templates, mods, addons, links and directory.
 
Go Back   Directory Owners Forum > Directory-Owners.Com Community > General
User Name
Password

General Have a general chat about anything, Nothing special here. Just people talking randomly

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 03-14-2008, 10:02 PM
rainchild rainchild is offline
Senior Member
 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 326
Downloads: 1
Templates/Mods Contributions: 0
Rep Power: 9
rainchild will become famous soon enough
Default Virus Alert

I picked up a nasty virus and suspect it was after clicking through to schwoitdirectory.com . This used to be a directory run by ShadowKnight a moderator at Info.Vilesilener. As ar as I am aware he also owns taterlinks.com and one other one I will try to dig out.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 03-14-2008, 10:08 PM
rainchild rainchild is offline
Senior Member
 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 326
Downloads: 1
Templates/Mods Contributions: 0
Rep Power: 9
rainchild will become famous soon enough
Default

The third one was artoolinks.com
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 03-21-2008, 03:45 AM
rainchild rainchild is offline
Senior Member
 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 326
Downloads: 1
Templates/Mods Contributions: 0
Rep Power: 9
rainchild will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Her computer was again attacked by a virus - we believe it came from one or both of these websites:

http://www.taterlinks.com
http://www.artoolinks.com

The two cleaning calls cost over 1,000 baht already, so I have told her to
not go to those websites again. Please strike them off your list.
I don't think there is any doubt about these sites. I use Norton which blocked the bug but AVG appears to let it pass. Someone might like to tap Dan on the shoulder and point out that his moderators sites have gone bad. I have been warned off IVS by the big bad Watchdog and whilst I could open an account easily enough I am not convinced that Dan does not already know whose who in the zoo. I used to get inundated with spam submissions every time I yanked his chain. Was it coincidence? Was it just a sympathy call or was it something more sinister?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 03-27-2008, 10:54 PM
rainchild rainchild is offline
Senior Member
 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 326
Downloads: 1
Templates/Mods Contributions: 0
Rep Power: 9
rainchild will become famous soon enough
Default

I notice that Dan's close friend and confidant from phpld has read this thread but there hasn't been so much as a cheep about the complications encountered with these three sites. Shadow Knight is still listed as a Super Moderator at IVS and the one site that I found on his "Pay for Inclusion" {tut tut} list is gone. However, the other two which I couldn't find when I last looked do now appear in its stead. So someone must have checked. Funnily enough though, I coudn't find taterlinks on his removed list, so I am not sure who did what or why.

Does this mean that they have cleaned up their act? Buggard if I am going to go looking though. Thousands might trust Norton but I don't and I think its sad that one of the so called authorities in this industry is so underhand and secretive. If there was a problem why not acknowledge it? How many others got caught?

And by the way Artoo link points to Artoo links but reads www. alpha-directory.com on the newly added html list.

Edit: Correction I see taterlinks is back on the Free Lists. Nice one guys! Who would have ever believed it was possible?

Last edited by rainchild : 03-27-2008 at 11:25 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 05-30-2008, 02:42 AM
rainchild rainchild is offline
Senior Member
 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 326
Downloads: 1
Templates/Mods Contributions: 0
Rep Power: 9
rainchild will become famous soon enough
Default

Shadow Knights three sites appear to have been removed from the IVS lists but I must have missed the post explaining how and why those sites got corrupted. That's the least I would exact from staff on an "authority" site or is IVS not what it used to be? Updates are few and far between. Plenty of dead links to complain about. Too many vested interests and not enough elbow grease?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:22 PM.


Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.0.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41