Directory-Owners.com - Directory owners resources,forum, templates, mods, addons, links and directory.
 
Go Back   Directory Owners Forum > Directory-Owners.Com Community > General
User Name
Password

General Have a general chat about anything, Nothing special here. Just people talking randomly

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 02-15-2008, 11:11 AM
Popof Popof is offline
Junior Member
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 61
Downloads: 0
Templates/Mods Contributions: 0
Rep Power: 3
Popof is on a distinguished road
Default Unsolicited mail asking for directory submissions: spam, scam or genuine?

This is something new. I am getting dozens of unsolicited mails asking me to list my site in directories for free (sometimes with reciprocal). Last one was from Biz-Dir.net. Mails are sent to addresses published on my website; not to addresses I had left when submitting to other directories in the past. What's the meaning of it? Genuine request or another kind of scam / spam?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 04-03-2008, 03:33 AM
The Club Crawler's Avatar
The Club Crawler The Club Crawler is offline
New Member
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 24
Downloads: 0
Templates/Mods Contributions: 0
Rep Power: 0
The Club Crawler is on a distinguished road
Default

Sounds like classic spam to me.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 06-06-2008, 10:53 AM
ArturusMaximus's Avatar
ArturusMaximus ArturusMaximus is offline
New Member
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 14
Downloads: 0
Templates/Mods Contributions: 0
Rep Power: 0
ArturusMaximus will become famous soon enough
Send a message via Skype™ to ArturusMaximus
Default

I am getting tons of emails from Bid Directories telling me that I was outbided. When I go to some of those directories, I know that I never submitted there to begin with.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 06-24-2008, 10:11 PM
alexme alexme is offline
New Member
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 20
Downloads: 0
Templates/Mods Contributions: 0
Rep Power: 0
alexme is on a distinguished road
Default

Sounds like spam...

Although it would not be surprising to get emails from an email address submitted with a directory submission.

My main directory has been live for over 6 months (can't remember exactly how long) and I recently sent out an email stating that they could upgrade to a sponsored link if they'd like for $2 or that they could submit more sites for free to either that directory or my other main directory.

These sorts of emails I think are perfectly reasonable and expected maybe once or twice from the directory owner.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 06-25-2008, 05:22 AM
nicesurf nicesurf is offline
New Member
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 3
Downloads: 0
Templates/Mods Contributions: 0
Rep Power: 0
nicesurf is on a distinguished road
Default

Email address could be converted to profit if they have relationship with us.....except you can give them special offers.

Nic
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:12 PM.


Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.0.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41